Flopstar Blog’s Most Anticipated Acts of Melodifestivalen 2015!

So it’s almost that time of the year again where I bother everyone with constant updates about the Eurovision Song Contest and all of it’s selection shows. Yes, it’s not exactly the time for that yet as things really don’t get kicked off until after New Years, but a big bit of news has come out this week and needed addressing.

The only really relevant pre-selection show in all of Europe is Sweden’s Melodifestivalen, which is also coincidentally my favorite. SVT, the company who runs Melfest, have announced all the artists who are competing next year along with  the titles of their song and their song writers. Here are some of the acts I am most excited for this year.

Måns Zelmerlöw – “Heroes”
Måns Zelmerlöw has one of the stronger pop discographies out of almost any male pop singer I can think of on this entire planet. Each album he has released has been exceptionally good, and his back catalog is extremely diverse. The song he wrote for the 2012 contest was the best song that year, and his last official entry would have won the contest under the modern rules. He is my favorite to win by a mile, and now that he is returning to dance pop once again, I know for certain he will deliver what will end up being one of the best songs of 2015. It’s really a matter of ‘when’, not ‘if’.

Dinah Nah – “Make Me (La La La)”
I have no idea what this song will end up sounding like, (I have no idea how any of the songs will sound to be honest), but I do know this chick used to he in cheesetastic novelty group Caramell, whose euro dance classic “Caramelldansen” is the type of iconic Dance Dance Revolution trashiness that inspired me to start this blog in the first place.

Isa – “Don’t Stop”
To be honest I don’t particularly care for either of her singles, but I also don’t particularly hate either and feel optimistic her entry will be a decent pop track.

JTR – “Building It Up”
JTR’s debut album that I wrote about earlier this year was beyond solid, and I am pretty confident I will like their Melfest entry. This one is basically foolproof.

Magnus Carlsson – “Möt mig i Gamla Stan”
Former Alcazar member Magnus Carlsson is competing again? The guy who gave the world “Live Forever“? That Magnus Carlsson? “POP GALAXY” MAGNUS CARLSSON? Yeah, I’m already sold.

Samir & Viktor – “Groupie”
Their previous single “Success” is iconic and legendary so I am already on board and rooting for the new kings of pop. Consider me a ‘groupie’.

Eric Saade – “Sting”
Same annoying guy, same team behind his song as his last two times competing, so I already know what to expect. The bar isn’t set too high after that dud of an album he released last year, (my review got me some heat on twitter from his fanbase), so he should have a fairly easy time meeting, or even exceeding expectations.

I’m not going to lie, I was planning to make this a top ten list but had trouble finding more than these 7 entries that I was overly interested in hearing. Hopefully a few dark horses come out of nowhere and slay me alive, otherwise it’s basically up to Måns Zelmerlöw to keep me interested next year. Not that he would have trouble doing that even if the contest were loaded.

About FlopstarReviews

I love flop music and I am here to share that with you. My twitter is @ShayneOfficial
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

